Free DMV Written Test Simulator for Tennessee | Updated for 2023 | TN
There are 30 questions on the Tennessee DMV Written Test, and you need to answer 24 of them correctly to get your learner’s permit. While you can receive your learner’s permit at age 15, due to Tennessee’s Graduated Driver License (GDL) law, there are many stages and fees before you can receive a regular license at age 18. First, you can receive a learner’s permit at age 15, which requires paying a fee of $10.50 if you are under age 18. Then you can receive your intermediate restricted license at age 16 or 180 days after receiving your learner’s permit, whichever comes first; it will cost $24.50 if you are 16 and $21 if you are 17. At either age 17 or one year after receiving your intermediate restricted license, you can receive your intermediate unrestricted license, which involves paying a fee of $2. Finally, when you are 18 or when you receive your high school diploma or GED, whichever comes first, you can receive your regular driver’s license, which will usually require a fee of $8. This 2023 DMV practice test will help you achieve the 80% passing score you need to get your Tennessee learner’s permit or driver license.